How we work


Cost Accounting Management is a certificate programme designed to train students for working in different industries and corporate functions. In India, the credentials of the CMA course are issued by the Institute of Cost Accountants of India (ICAI). The programme mainly focuses on valuation issues, financial statement analysis, working capital policies, external financial reporting, etc.

CMA Course Duration 

The duration of the CMA course is flexible. Which means that the time taken to complete the CMA programme depends on a candidate’s level of focus and dedication.

The course can be completed from 6 months to 4 years.

Usually in India, students take at least 3-4 years to complete the course.

In the US, the course is completed in just 6 months. 

CMA Course Registration and Fee 

The CMA course registrations end at least four months prior to the day of the examination of the intended level. You can only apply for the stage that you are eligible for. 

When to Apply for the CMA Course? 

The registration/ application for the ICAI course remains active throughout the year. However, you will have to register four months prior to the intended term. For instance, if you are interested in appearing for December Term Exam, you will have to apply before the 31st of July in the same year. Likewise, if you are interested in the June Term Exam, you must register before the 31st of January in the same year. 

Where to Apply for the CMA Course? 

In order to register for the course, you will have to submit your duly filled Postal Application form, along with the relevant documents to your respective Regional Councils. Every Indian state is divided into four regions and come under the regional council of that area. The Regional Council of Western India is in Mumbai, Southern India is situated in Chennai, Eastern India in Kolkata and Northern India in New Delhi. 



Facts about the course


Institute of Cost Accountants of India (ICAI) previously known as the Institute of Cost & Works Accountants of India (ICWA) promotes, regulates, and develops the profession of Cost & Management Accountancy in India.

Course Level

ICWA/ (CMA-INDIA) course comprises of three levels

  • Foundation
  • Intermediate
  • Final.


Foundation level: Those who had passed Class 10 or equivalent from a recognized Board or Institution.

Intermediate level: Those who had passed Senior Secondary School Examination (10+2) & Foundation Course of CMA (ICAI)/ Graduation in any discipline other than Fine Arts/ Foundation (Entry Level) Part I Examination of CAT of the Institute/ Foundation (Entry Level) Part I Examination and Competency Level Part II Examination of CAT of the Institute OR Passed Foundation of ICSI/Intermediate of along with 10+2.



Paper – 1 Fundamentals of Economics and Management

Paper – 2 Fundamentals of Accounting

Paper – 3 Fundamentals of Laws and Ethics

Paper – 4 Fundamentals of Business Mathematics & Statistics


Group – 1 

Paper – 5 Financial Accounting
Paper – 6 Laws & Ethics
Paper – 7 Direct Taxation
Paper – 8 Cost Accounting

Group – 2 

Paper – 9 Operations Management & Strategic Management
Paper – 10 Cost & Management Accounting and Financial Management
Paper – 11 Indirect Taxation
Paper – 12 Company Accounts & Audit


Group – 3 

Paper – 13 Corporate Laws & Compliance
Paper – 14 Strategic Financial Management
Paper – 15 Strategic Cost Management – Decision Making
Paper – 16 Direct Tax Laws and International Taxation

Group – 4

Paper – 17 Corporate Financial Reporting
Paper – 18 Indirect Tax Laws & Practice
Paper – 19 Cost & Management Audit
Paper – 20 Strategic Performance Management and Business Valuation.